Government Schemes


Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana

The Government of India has launched the scheme “Deendayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana” for rural electrification. The erstwhile Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana (RGGVY) scheme for village electrification and providing electricity distribution infrastructure in the rural areas has been subsumed in the DDUGJY scheme. Rural Electrification Corporation is the Nodal Agency for implementation of DDUGJY.

Under DDUGJY-RE, Ministry of Power has sanctioned 921 projects to electrify 1,21,225 un-electrified villages, intensive electrification of 5,92,979 partially electrified villages and provide free electricity connections to 397.45 lakh BPL rural households. To view the real-time status of rural electrification, click here.

Achievements under DDUGJY:

  • Hon'ble Prime Minister had set a target of 1000 days to electrify all inhabited villages. The feat was achieved in 987 days which prompted the International Energy Agency (IEA) to call it the most seminal devlopment in the energy sector across the world. 

  • Subsidy released to states was to the tune of 53,326 crore. 

  • 1,54,30,154 Consumer meters along with 2,49,186 DTR meters and 13,851 11kV feeder meters have been installed.

  • A total of 1,841 new Sub-stations were erected and 2,353 augmented. 

  • 6,12,201 Distribution Transformers have been installed. 

  • 1,29,306 ckm of Feeder Segregation was set up. 

  • 5,15,235 ckm LT line as well as 1,84,765 ckm of 11kV line and 22,549 ckm of 22kV and 66kV lines were added. 

The funding mechanism of DDUGJY is as under: 


Nature of support

Quantum of support
(Percentage of project cost)

Other than Special Category States

Special Category States #

Govt of India




Discom Contribution*

Own Fund



Lender (FIs/ Banks)




Additional Grant from GOI on achievement of prescribed milestones 


50% of total  loan component (30%) i.e. 15%

50% of total  loan component (10%) i.e. 5%

Maximum Grant by GOI (including additional grant on achievement of prescribed milestones)





# Special Category States (All North Eastern States including Sikkim, J&K, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand)

* Minimum contribution by Discom(s) is 10% (5% in case of Special Category States). However, Discom(s) contribution can go up to 40% (15% in case of Special Category States), if they do not intend to avail loan. In case, the Discom(s) do not avail loan, the maximum eligible additional grant would be 15% (5% in case of Special Category States) on achievement of prescribed milestones. The loan component would be provided by REC or by other FIs/Banks.

Note: 100% grant shall be provided by GoI towards expenditure incurred on activities for bridging the missing links of National Optical Fibre Network (NOFN), Creation of Rural Electrification Data Hub at Rural Electrification Corporation & Project Management Agency (PMA) as per provision in the scheme.

For more information on the scheme, go to

Page Last Updated At: 25/08/2021 - 02:30 PM
  • Number of Visitors :